The Italian Wedding – Book Review

As I had promised, my next book review is of The Italian Wedding.Β  I am refraining from posting reviews of everything I read to avoid shoes and chappals being thrown at me πŸ™‚

There is something about books in Italian settings. I love them as much as like Indian books. Most of these also have the most mouth-watering descriptions of food, which makes it an even better experience. I know, it is probably stereotyped, but that certainly does not stop me from lapping it all up.

The Italian Wedding

by Nicky Pellegrino

Pieta Martinelli is a bridal designer working for a famous Bridal Designer. She is very busy at work and at home, planning her younger sister’s wedding dress.Β  Living with her Italian dad, Beppi Martinelli,Β  English mother Catherine and younger sister Addolorata, who is a chef in her dad’s restaurant Little Italy, in London.

Her family has a long running feud with another Italian family in the same locality. She and her sister have always been consumed with curiosity about the feud, because they have never been told anything about it.Β  As events unfold, her mother ends up relating the story of how she and her father met and about the feud. As she hears the story, she also starts to understand her mother, who was always in the background, who both sisters more or less ignored.

It was an enchanting read. Beautifully incorporating interesting recipes as well as interesting comments to the recipe while moving the story forward really well.

This is the first book of hers that I have read and I am certainly going to pick up more of hers. I just loved the way she writes.

I am not going to be doing any more book reviews for a while. The books I read recently have not been worth reviewing. Have been going through a lot of inane chick-lits. Now re-reading London by Edward Rutherfurd, an epic of a book, which I had loved reading. I had mentioned about this book here as well.

42 thoughts on “The Italian Wedding – Book Review

  1. second! πŸ˜€

    Will pick this one up as well!!
    I’m so glad so many reviews have come out just before the weekend!
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Have made a note of this one as well!! Thanks Smithus

    Great πŸ™‚ Hope you like it Pixie – I really enjoyed it – but then I am partial to Italian books πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. OK, let me go ahead and admit it, I have stopped reading story books, just cannot fit them into my day. But your reviews are making me want to try to cram them too.

    I read them at the cost of my blogging. I used to read blogs on the phone sometime back – but now have stopped it as it eats into my reading time. So now I read at night and whenever I can in the day time πŸ™‚ I love these different types of books. How are the libs there? They might have a similar system like in the UK.

    Like

  3. Your blog is a super source of reading lists… keep going, Smitha. You inspire me to read, too.


    Try reading London – you might like it. I love reading about the history of places that we pass through on a daill basis πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Aha! this sounds like an interesting read. Will try finding this out πŸ™‚

    I really liked it, Smita.

    And keep the reviews coming I like company in getting abused πŸ˜‰

    Yes, that is indeed helpful πŸ™‚ The ones I read recently – are not worth reviewing 😦

    Like

  5. One more book..whats ur per page reading speed πŸ˜† πŸ˜† ..u seems to read a lot πŸ™‚

    I read too much according to certain people πŸ™‚

    Italian food is always delicious..and so this books seems to be πŸ™‚
    Oh yes! The book sure is delicious πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Lovely read this seems to be πŸ™‚ Got to get it πŸ™‚
    And pls review everything u read Smithu πŸ˜› We want them πŸ˜‰

    I feel lazy to review something I did not enjoy πŸ™‚ Will try. But then that way I would have too many reviews to do 😦

    Atleast put up a post on which are those not-worthy ones πŸ˜‰
    One thing I hv seen is that I easily like the books which u hv liked when I read them .. so, I will go by what u don’t like too probably πŸ˜‰

    Ok, maybe, I can do one consolidated post of all the ones that I really did not enjoy, I guess.

    Like

    • Sigh! I wanna dine out @ Li’l Italy 2day πŸ˜›


      Me too! There is one really cool Italian place near here – have been craving to eat there since I read this book πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. “There is something about books in Italian settings…” Well for me it’s the MEN :mrgreen: I can drool on them as if like they were some exotic Tiramisu πŸ‘Ώ

    LOL! Tiramisu -for me any day πŸ™‚

    By the way don’t you ever think of stopping your book reviews. I love them and next time when you write about a book will make sure Hitchy and Masood is well entertained πŸ˜‰

    LOL! You have already done that bit in this post πŸ™‚

    Gosh have missed so many of your posts πŸ˜₯ and haven’t read this Italian Wedding one 😦

    Give it a try – it was a nice read.

    Like

  8. It looks like a Book Club Recommendation !!! πŸ˜‰

    πŸ™‚ Book club recommendation πŸ™‚

    So many books, no time to read !!! You know, my glasses have still not come…. πŸ˜‰ (Solid reason to postpone reading) πŸ˜‰

    Oh yea – please do post the pics of your glasses when they come πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. doesnt sound like my cup of tea .. ! no book reviews ??? sneak them in between other posts !! πŸ™‚ .. but i do agree that chappals follow mostly after book reviews .. i have firsthand experience at that !

    Like

  10. I don’t think this book will interest me… but a Italian wedding surely appeal to be… as I love those wedding scenes in film The godfather.. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    and an idea… create a separate page to give notes on the book you read… it will be good and will introduce a lot of books to us… and give that updated link the posts… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. i enjoy reading about the books you read smitha – so please don’t stop yourself from writing as many as you want

    Thank you, Anrosh πŸ™‚ Those words mean a lot to me πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Despite the fact that you mentioned ‘Italian’ several times(starting with the title), I read the entire review thinking the book was “Indian Wedding”!! I wondered about the strangeness of it for a good 2 mins and then ‘Ting’ – the tubelight switched ON! Haha, so I’m glad the weekend’s almost here..TGIF:-)

    LOL! TGIF πŸ™‚

    Nice review. I’m reading Michael Crichton’s Pirate Latitudes. Have u read it?

    No, I haven’t actually -how is it?

    Like

  13. going by the 1st para i thought it sounded like the movie ’27dresses’ but looks like it’s not so..
    will definitely try reading this.

    Have no idea about the movie. There was no mention of a movie being made of the book, though.

    Like

    • Its not related to the movie.. in the movie the lead also works as a marriage consultant or something like that who manages everything in weddings.. she loses her mother at a young age and looks after her sister…
      i guess they are diff..just that the 1st para had a similarity..

      oh ok.Wedding planner? It sounds interesting though. I am very very bad at movies 😦

      Like

  14. Recipes! wonderful… I’m picking it up then… I’m too much into cooking these days. God only knows when this hyper enthusiam is gonna fade. But I don’t see it going away anytime now, though:)
    I love the restaurant Little Italy…

    Too much into cooking? I wish I were πŸ™‚ I am too much into easy cooking or avoid cooking at all cost πŸ˜‰

    The recipes sound yum! I did not try any though. I love italian food and the mere description is enough to make my mouth water πŸ™‚

    cya

    Like

  15. What a perfect time for an Italian treat….
    I am baking home made pizzas tonight πŸ˜€

    I love italian food too πŸ™‚

    The book sounds interesting, I’d like to give it a try sometime πŸ˜€

    I definitely recommend it πŸ™‚

    Keep reviewing Smitha πŸ™‚

    Will do, CB πŸ™‚

    Cheers!!!

    Like

  16. I haven’t read for what feels like a decade-and every time a read a review by you-my pending list just keeps growing 😦

    Am sure you will get the chance to read it all in one go πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

