Mini Shopaholic By Sophie Kinsella

Sophie Kinsella has been one of my favourite amongst Chick-lit writers, and her Shopaholic series has been one of the funniest I have read. So when I got to know that her latest in the series had been released, I just had to get my hands on it.

We had left Becky Brandon nee Bloomwood, right after she gave birth to her daughter in the previous book in the series.. Now, it turns out that the shopaholic mother has indeed passed on some of her genes to her daughter Minnie. Two-year-old Minnie seems to have the same expensive taste as her mother, in toys, clothes, shoes and even handbags. If anything, she is even more accomplished than her mother, she does things like ordering 16 Miu Miu coats online!Β  Becky, on the other hand, has her hands full, tryng to keep herself from shopping – a promise she makes to Luke. Becky, being Becky, finds incredibly innovative ways of shopping, and even uses her innovative skills in becoming the most promising salesperson in her workplace. However , all is not perfect, as Becky soon finds out. Along with all the recession and her work place issues, she is also trying to plan a birthday party for Luke(her husband), while trying not to spend too much.

The book is an absolute laugh-riot, as far as we don’t use our brains while we read πŸ™‚ Anybody who liked Kinsella’s Shopaholic series is sure to like this. A light-hearted fun read, which makes us laugh and cringe at Becky’s antics. There are times I want to hit her on her head!

All in all, a fun read, when all one wants is some laughs and a bit of fun!

29 thoughts on “Mini Shopaholic By Sophie Kinsella

  1. I was doubtful about this one, but I think I’ll give it a go πŸ™‚
    Good review! About wanting to hit her on the head – couldn’t agree more πŸ˜†

    You will feel like clobbering her quite a bit in this book πŸ™‚ There is one interaction with a nanny – oh god! That was classic Becky Bloomwood πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I am one of those rare ppl who cannot identify with being a shopaholic…hence this entire series did not appeal to me πŸ™‚

    Well Becky is someone, most of us would not be able to identify with – but she still is very funny πŸ™‚

    But I love all the other books of Sohpie…she writes really really well and reaches out to you while writing…thats what I like abt it

    Yes, I love Kinsella’s writing!

    Like

  3. I read “remember me” earlier and “Twenties girl” recently from sophie kinsella…
    Heard so much abt shopaholic series that I m thinking to order all 6 books in one go πŸ™‚

    Oh, I am sure you will love them πŸ™‚ It is a fun series!

    she has amazing style to make you laugh at silly things..
    I agree with you” dont use your brain while you read” πŸ˜† :lol”

    πŸ™‚ Yes does have a great sense of humour, and the ability to convey it so well through her books πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. OOPS….I dont like the Shopaholic series…. 😦 😦

    So, definitely not my type…yeah, I got to see the movie….its certainly not for me….

    But my girls loved the book and the movie. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

