Second Glance by Jodi Picoult and a Challenge

One thing I find I rarely do is review the books I read. Mainly because I worry if I could do justice to the books and because I get lazy. Smita’s review challenge hopefully will motivate me to review the books I read. I would like to review at least 1 book every fortnight.

So here I go, signing up for Smita’s Let’s Review More n More books” Challenge.

 And my first review before the first week of the new year ends.

Jodi Picoult is one of my favourite authors and last week I discovered a book of hers that I had missed. For some reason, I was under the impression that I had already read Second Glance. Reading through the back cover, I realised that I had missed this one.

Ross Wakeman does not want to live. Ever since his fiancee died in a car accident, he has lost the will to live, but he seems to lead a charmed life. No matter what he does, he does not succeed in dying. All he wants is to join Aimee on the other side.

In desperation, he turns to ghost-hunting. He hopes to see Aimee’s ghost and is close to giving up hope. He ends up in an Abenaki burial ground, and from then on, nothing works as it normally does.

Meredith Oliver’s daughter Lucy is haunted by inexplicable nightmares. Nothing they do seems to matter.

Shelby lives an unimaginable life keeping her nine year old son away from the sun. He suffers from a life-threatening ‘allergy to sunlight’. She will do anything for her son. Ethan, her son, longs to fit in, to be normal.

How do these come together? You’ll have to read it to find out. It combines Picoult’s skill of weaving medical conditions , genetics, paranormal occurences, nail biting suspense, and ethical issues into her  stories makes it a wonderful read.  While this is not one of her best(in my opinion), but it still is un-put-downable. I read in a days time. I would give it a 4/5 simply because I have read better books from Picoult.

23 thoughts on “Second Glance by Jodi Picoult and a Challenge

  1. all the best with the challenge .. I so want to read books , this time when i went to bangalore i actually bought so many books which i have to start reading .. I just dont get time to read…

    Like

  2. I LOVE Jodi Picoult books – got hooked after reading ‘My Sister’s Keeper’ while I was at uni, I think I’ve read all her books, but I have the new one ‘Sing me Home’ on my bookshelf untouched.

    Can’t remember this one, but I think you may be right – while it’s a good read – she’s written better ones 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Am back on the Calendar … « Deviant Wave

  4. Firstly thanks for taking up the challenge! 🙂

    And I do like certain books of JC and this too sounds interesting. Interestingly I have managed to get stuck in one of her books, Tenth Circle. Have u read it??? Dunno why I could never finish it. But I must say her books sometimes take u to the lane of sadness & depression, nahin?

    Like

    • Thank you for thinking up this challenge 🙂 I did not want to take the South Asian Challenge again coz getting books that fit the criteria is too tough here- I think I have completed most of what my library has here 🙂

      I have read the Tenth Circle – and i liked it . Yes, they are sad, they bring up a lot of moral dilemmas which makes us think as well… I personally like her books a lot!

      Like

  5. This sounds so damn interesting!

    I have heard a LOT about Jodi Picoult’s books, and all good things. I even have a couple of books by her, but never seem to be able to pick one up and read. I don’t know why. I will try and read at least one book by her this year.

    Good luck with the challenge!

    Like

  6. Jodi Picoult brings the supernatural world of ghosts and other phenomena to life in an unusual tale of love that transcends time and death. Second Glance is a story about the difference between life and really living. It is also about love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

