Hilawi by Ritu Lalit

Ritu has been someone whose writing I’ve always enjoyed. I have been a silent lurker on her blog, mainly because I don’t have much to add, but I’ve always loved the way she writes. Her books have been on my wish list, but somehow I didn’t end up picking them up when I was in India. But when I found it on Kindle, I went ahead and got it. It then sat on my kindle for ages, because I gravitate towards proper books most of the time. Only during the holidays does the Kindle get to see the light of the day. So this last holiday, I went through all my pending reading on the Kindle.

Now, I have had the not so greatest of experiences with bloggers turning authors.  I haven’t read too many but the ones I did, well, wasn’t as great as I expected.  Once, I came across this blogger who actually asked me if I had read her book, and it was a bit embarrassing because I had, and I did not enjoy it as much as everybody else seems to have done. So I was squirming a bit, hoping to find a way out. I normally do not review books I don’t like, so it got a little awkward for me.

Since then, I try not to mention if I am reading a book of someone I might know. I needn’t have worried, this time.

hilawi

Gargi(Gigi) and Yaduvir(Vir) Ojha are twins living in London. Despite being twins, they are nothing like each other. Yaduvir, is  calm and mild mannered man, while Gigi is a feisty, young woman. Gigi, Yaduvir and Madhur, Yaduvir’s girlfriend Madhur are inseparable and great pals. Their regular, smooth life is suddenly interrupted when a sudden phone call summons them back to India. As soon as they land in India, they realize that something is very wrong. Their grand-uncle is not just having old age related delusions. Everything that they had taken for granted changed instantaneously. They are apparently, the guardians of ancient shield, Hilawi which is guarded very carefully, because of its sensitive and dangerous nature.

Hilawi is supposed to bring luck and prosperity to those who possess it. That makes it very lucrative to a number of people. The Ojha women are supposed to be true guardians and just like her mother before her, Gigi is the chosen one while Vir is the protector. Things start to change rapidly, not just around them, but within them as well.  Before they know it, they are plunged into the unknown, and they have to use all their wits to work their way out. Not only do they have to safeguard Hilawi, they also have to outwit several others who are out to get their hands on it. They have to figure out for themselves who is evil and who is not.

A taut story line, well-etched characters and a fast paced narrative makes this book  a  quick and interesting read. The mythological story of Hilawi was very interesting. It had me hooked from the beginning to the end. It is fantasy thriller and I have to say, I love the author’s imagination.

I especially loved the way it ended. So much so, that I wish it had a sequel. So would I recommend it, of course! I would give it a 4/5.

About the Author

Ritu Lalit is a successful author of three books, A Bowlful of Butterflies, Hilawi, and Chakra, Chronicles of Witch Way. She also has a very popular blog. She lives in the National Capital Region, with her two sons, daughter-in-law, three dogs, a cat, fishes and a water turtle.

This book is available on Amazon and Flipkart.

9 thoughts on “Hilawi by Ritu Lalit

  1. Pingback: me before you kindle edition

Leave a Reply

