Book Review: Frankly Spooking by Sriramana Muliye

franklyspooking

I owe Sriramana a big apology for taking so long to read and review his book. This is the only problem with Kindle books. It takes me ages to pick it up. For some reason, I still pick up a proper book if I have the option of it, rather than an e-book. SIgh. But, better late than never, I guess.

An unsettling collection of tales that will draw out the fears that lie hidden in the deepest, darkest recesses of your mind. You encounter the dead in places you would never expect: the corridors of a swanky office, a busy shopping mall, a quiet classroom or may be knocking at your door.

That pretty much sums up the book. A collection of short tales, each set in the most everyday of settings, into which the author manages to add a spooky element which had my all spooked out. Every single time. Be it regular house hunting, or even a moisturizer or earphones that you might use, I promise you, you would never look at them in the same way again. Short stories that will give you the chills. Alone at home, with my daughter fast asleep, it had me cuddling up to a sleeping child to read this. So spooked out, was I! Every little noise around the house had me jumping out of my skin while I read it. The last story in the collection was well, particularly interesting, in its setting. I can’t go into too much detail about it, but will say, ‘Do read it’.

What I loved was that the stories were short, and the author left them at the right place, for us to figure out stuff, the unsaid sometimes over-powering the said. Perfectly planned short stories which hit exactly where it should, leaving the reader completely spooked and yet gasping for more. Some of them felt ever-so-slightly repetitive but were still very readable and enjoyable. What I liked even more was that I haven’t read this genre of books in a while. The last I read was Poe, a long, long time back. And for a genre that I don’t read much, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’ve recommended to one person, I know, loves this genre – my husband, he is sure to love this one.

A great read, one of a genre I don’t normally read, but loved! If you like horror as a genre, you should go for it. Actually, even if you don’t like horror, give it a try, I would say, you might still enjoy it.

I would rate it a 4/5. Great concept, well-edited short stories, which end at exactly the right place. A page turner.

About the Author
Sriramana Muliye is a blogger who blogs at ‘Malignant Humour in My Head ‘ and this is his first book.

This book is available at Flipkart(India) and Amazon(UK).

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Frankly Spooking by Sriramana Muliye

  1. I love reading the blog Malignant Humour In My Head, though horror is not my usual genre of reading. The author’s stories spook me out too. I am sure his book would be equally good. Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    BTW, I now have a Kindle! Loving the experience of reading on it so far, but I don’t think I will ever give up on reading paper books entirely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

