Book Review: The Case of the Deadly Butter Chicken by Tarquin Hall

This book was recommended by Smita and Pixie, and luckily for me, I found it in my library, that very day! That never ever happens to me!

image

I picked it up only to realize that it was the third of a series, but that didn’t retract in any way from the book, I have to say.

Vish Puri is the famous detective, who has been solving mysteries while gobbling up delicacies of all sorts. He is extremely fond of food, butter chicken is one of his favourites, and he tucks in, albeit surreptitiously to avoid his wife when he chances upon a mysterious meeting with two individuals, one of whom ends up dead on the floor as soon as he eats the butter chicken, Puri had just enjoyed. The dead man is the famous Pakistani Cricketer Kamran Khan’s father.

Vish Puri ends up involved in the case, but of course! And eventually solves it with the help of his Mummyji, who despite her son’s pleas refuses to accept that detective work is not for mummies! It’s a fun journey with Vish Puri as he goes about his job, eating his way through situations. The author does an incredible job portraying India, it is as if we are there. His words transport you to the places, the alleyways and the journeys that protagonists embark on. It was all spot on. The mystery was well handled, and the suspense was maintained well.

So would I recommend it? It’s an interesting book, for sure. The story as well as the setting is well etched out. Keeps you engrossed, a complete page turner. I have to say that if I have to choose a favourite character, it would the feisty Mummyji! I absolutely love her! She was so much fun! If the other books feature her as well, I’m definitely picking them up. Some of the things that niggled at me was the use of Indian-English. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for using the local language, but I felt that in some places, it felt forced, didn’t feel natural. As if the author was trying too hard. Either that or I’m out of touch with India. Might be the latter, if I’m honest.

I wasn’t too taken by the secondary plot of the missing moustaches. The book would have been just as great without it, in my opinion. But these are minor quibbles at most.

I would rate it a 3.5/5.

And before I forget, I found a non-fiction book by the same author which feels like something I would love to read! And what makes it doubly exciting is that I have gotten hold of it too! It’s just waiting to be read, as soon as I finish the one I’m currently on.

About the Author
Tarquin Hall is a British author and journalist who has lived and worked throughout South Asia, the Middle East and Africa. He is the author of The Case of the Missing Servant, dozens of articles, and three works of non-fiction, including the highly acclaimed Salaam Brick Lane, an account of a year spent above a Bangladeshi sweat shop in London’s notorious East End.

This book is available from Amazon(UKand Flipkart(India).

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Case of the Deadly Butter Chicken by Tarquin Hall

  1. I have marked the series along with my other to-read books! 🙂
    Now let me click on your review of No1 Ladies Detective Agency which is showing in the related posts above..

    Like

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Salaam Brick Lane by Tarquin Hall | Any Excuse To Read

Leave a Reply

