Book Review: The Life Intended by Kristin Harmel

I’ve been only reading on the Kindle these days thanks to a combination of not having any time for a library run and managing to get hold of some interesting e-books. I had never thought I would go for so long without picking up a real book. Well, never say never seems to be the theme around here, these days. I did manage to go to the library this week, finally, but it was a quick 10 minute stop, so have had to grab what I found. This is another Netgalley book that I got approved for. Have I said how thankful I am for having discovered Netgalley?

TheLifeIntended

Katie has just got engaged a wonderful man, Dan. A man who everyone thinks is perfect for her. All her friends and family are delighted, but something is nagging at Katie.

Katie’s husband, Patrick, had died over 10 years ago. She had been mourning for him since then. Her family had been worried that she isn’t letting go and moving on until she got engaged to Dan. Something however isn’t quite right.

Katie starts having vivid dreams about Patrick. She gets transported into a different world where Patrick is still alive and they have a daughter. A life that she doesn’t want to leave. A life that she yearns for. The life she should have had. The life where the love of her life doesn’t die. The life where things are the way she wants them to be. The dreams leave Katie confused and purposeful at the same time. Convinced that Patrick is sending her messages, Katie follows her heart to go on the most unexpected and yet the most fulfilling journey possible. Katie discovers a world unknown to her, people who she gets involved with who move her in ways that she never imagined.

A book that had me in tears, which had me wanting to flip to the end just because I so wanted to know how it all ends up. A heart-wrenching tale that has your heart go out to Katie. A beautiful read. One that I would go for, armed with tissues.

The book also deals with the a lot of difficult topics like living with the loss of a loved one, the life of a hard of hearing person and foster care of children. All these have been handled so sensitively and beautifully. I love books like these which open up a perspective which I had never come across before. A beautiful book. The first I’ve read of this author, but having read this one, I’m sure it won’t be the last.

A 4.5/5 read for me and one that I would wholeheartedly recommend.

This book can be ordered from Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Life Intended by Kristin Harmel

Leave a Reply

