Musing Mondays – 1

Musing Mondays are hosted by Miz B.

image

Musing Mondays asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer each week…
• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!
• What are you currently reading? What do you think you’ll read next? What did you recently finish reading?

I’m just going to talk about reading. It is funny how much my reading pattern has changed in just over a couple of years. There was a time when I refused to touch an e-reader. Husband was the first in our family to cross over to the dark side. But then for him, gadgets win over books anytime. He bought the Kindle as a gadget. He kept trying to entice me to try it. For the longest of time, I refused to even consider it. Blasphemy! How could he even think that a cold device could replace a lovely, warm, inviting book. Even better if it is a well-thumbed copy, like an old book of my grandfather’s that I still have. The smell, the feel, everything.. of a book, how could an e-reader ever replace books. It was unthinkable.

Did you notice the past tense? Well, that’s because all that has since changed. I still love reading a proper book, but somewhere along the line, I slowly started picking up e-books. I think it started first when I took husband’s kindle on a holiday. It felt like a sort of freedom. I didn’t have to carry loads of books! What a brilliant idea! And I could read it everywhere, I loved the e-ink, it almost felt like paper, and I could read it everywhere. I read it on a hot, sunny beach, and that was where, I think I finally fell for the Kindle. Then on, I stopped being completely anti-Kindle. It started to make more sense. It still wasn’t half as interesting as a proper book, but it had other advantages.

Slowly, over the last two years, I have started reading more and more on the Kindle. It is so very convenient. I can carry it everywhere, I can get review copies so much easier on it. Books are cheaper on the Kindle (I know, I am cheap!), and given our nomadic lifestyle, sometimes, transporting boxes of books are the biggest expense.

From a one Kindle family, we are now a three Kindle family. Daughter has just started reading on the Kindle too. And I have got a new one for Christmas!

image

Isn’t she gorgeous!!

18 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – 1

  1. I took to the Kindle like a duckling to water. I was impatient to get it and once I got it (later than I would have liked) I am the most satisfied customer. Buying books cheap and carrying loads of book around with you without the accompanying bulk are indeed boons. Nobody can borrow my books either and return it dog-eared (or not at all) 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I resisted the Kindle, too, and probably wouldn’t have gotten it…but my daughter gave me mine four years ago at Christmas. She is appalled at my overflowing shelves…LOL.

    Now I love Sparky! Yes, the fact that I named it says a lot. I love getting books in seconds…and not paying as much. No shipping and handling, etc.

    However, I still prefer reading a REAL book…sigh. But mostly the print books I now read are ARCs.

    Here is my MUSING MONDAYS POST

    Like

      • The kindle’s software is different. It has two ways to put a book in a shelf, either by itself or by checking off lots of books at once.

        The nook has only the one way. If want to add just one book to a shelf, you have to first go the shelf, go through 7 pages worth of books to find it. You can’t just search for the book and add it to a shelf.

        It’s a little annoying. If you have hundreds of books, it could be very annoying.

        The other thing is that the nook’s go to location thing doesn’t you have a bar you can drag along to a random location the book and it sort of mimics flipping pages in a physical book. In the kindle, you have to put in location number.

        Other than that, they are basically the same. Well, the nook has space for a memory card. But the same otherwise. The memory card made the difference for me!

        Like

  3. I am yet to get a Kindle….till then those lovely warm books are the way to go !!
    But, as you said it right, its easy to carry a lot of books while travelling….so for sure thinking of one now 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

