Musing Mondays 23 March

Musing Mondays are hosted by Miz B.

wpid-wp-1421011444536.jpeg

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

I’m just going to talk random book stuff today. Actually, not so random at all. I’ve got to write about how much I have started enjoying Netgalley. I love being able to request books, that actually appeal to me to read and review. A lot of times I end up accepting books from authors or publicist simply because I feel unable to say no. I know, I know it’s not good, but that’s how I am at times. In case of Netgalley, I love the process of checking out blurbs, requesting books that excite me. Of course some of them still disappoint, but that is to be expected, isn’t it?

If there is anything I absolutely hate about it is getting rejected. I actually feel a little sad, especially if it was a book I was really looking forward to reading. Not that it should stop me. If I really want it, I just order it on Amazon, but sometimes there’s a wait! Until the book gets released, which is sometimes quite trying. But can’t get everything, can we?

So tell me, how do you guys find Netgalley?

6 thoughts on “Musing Mondays 23 March

    • I used to stick with proper books too, but the ease of an ebook reader has completely converted me. Knowing that I have loads of books waiting to be read is just wonderful.

      Like

  1. Oh I love Netgalley. I had been requesting books left and right but then got rejected so many times. Now I think a lot before requesting rarely get rejected. The best part is when publishers grant you exclusive access and auto approval! 🙂

    Like

  2. I am much more controlled about my NetGalley choices than I was last year but I do still like the fantastic choice. It used to feel quite personal when I got rejected but I’ve learnt that some publisher’s seem to do this more than others but I have to admit I still get a little bit sad….

    Like

    • I’ve never been very impulsive with my requests, I only request very limited books, and I still get rejected 😦 I had not kept a tab on which publishers reject more. Will keep a note to analyse.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

