Stacking the Shelves 11 Apr

STSmall_thumb2

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page!

I have been eyeing this particular tag every time Cleo does it on Saturdays, but have not been in a position to do it, for a variety of reasons. Actually, because of just one reason. My weekends seem to be even busier than my weekends! Today, for some reason, I seem to have made up my mind to do this, even if it means I don’t step out into the glorious spring sunshine until mid-day.

I end up stacking my virtual shelves far more than my real shelves these days. Netgalley and Bookbub does not help matters when there are so many books available to pick up. I have, however, reduced the number of books I request from Netgalley. I just don’t seem to be able to keep up. And I hate to reach a point where almost every book I read is a review copy. Well, I am almost there already, so all the more reason to stop requesting, I suppose.

Disclaimer by Renée Knight, courtesy Netgalley. I know, I know, I just mentioned that I am reducing my requests, but can’t stop completely! I’d have withdrawal symptoms 🙂 I saw this book on Cleo’s blog, and couldn’t resist requesting it.

cover56752-medium

When an intriguing novel appears on Catherine’s bedside table, she curls up in bed and begins to read.

But as she turns the pages she is sickened to realize the story will reveal her darkest secret.

A secret she thought no one else knew…

Intriguiging, isn’t it?

The next book is also from Netgalley, Recipes for Melissa by Teresa Driscoll. I couldn’t resist when I read the blurb.
cover63115-medium

Is it ever too late for the gift of goodbye?

As I write now, you are eight years old – asleep in the bed next door in princess pyjamas, with a fairy costume discarded on the floor.

Twenty-Five. The age I had you. The age our story began. And the age, I hope, that will see you truly ready for the things that I need to say to you…

Melissa Dance was eight years old when her mother died. They never got to say goodbye.

Seventeen years later, Melissa is handed a journal. As she smooths open the pages and begins to read her mother’s words, she is instantly transported back to her childhood.

But returning to her past is painful and memories of her mother’s beautiful face are a cruel reminderto Melissa that she’ll never see her again.

As Melissa slowly makes her way through the precious book, reading the snippets of advice and cooking the dishes from the recipes she is also shocked to learn of her mother’s secrets – secrets that if shared, could change Melissa’s world forever.

So, what have you been adding to your shelves?

6 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves 11 Apr

  1. The last two books I have added to my bookshelf are The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald on the Kindle and My Berlin Kitchen by Luisa Weiss, a paperback. I’ve been reading both of them simultaneously. The former is not really capturing my attention, but I am simply loving the latter book.

    Like

    • NetGalley is a site for readers who review. So you get review copies of books in advance. You need to request for books you find interesting. It has totally stopped me from going to the library these days

      Like

Leave a Reply

