Book Review: Don’t Turn Around by Caroline Mitchell

DontturnAround

DC Jennifer Knight had been investigating a routine stabbing in Haven, a quiet, relatively crime free town, when she gets what sounds like a personal message from the grave, referencing her dead mother, Elizabeth.

Unable to understand what to make of this, Jennifer continues her normal routine when more killings take place. Jennifer knows, instinctively that there is more than meets the eye. Her own premonitions tell her to dig further. She soon discovers that there is indeed a link. The spate of murders mirrored those of the notorious serial killer who called himself ‘The Grim Reaper’. Her mother Elizabeth had been part of the team which convicted him, and now it looked as if a copycat Grim Reaper was back. Jennifer knew in her bones that it was more than a copycat, this was someone who had a connection to her.

The author does a brilliant job, setting the atmosphere. I felt Jennifer’s terror. I found myself wondering if I could hear footsteps in a house where I knew everyone else was asleep. A book that gripped me completely. The character are brought to life beautifully. Jennifer’s troubled, neglected childhood, her relationship with her sister, Amy, her memories of her mother. Frank’s childhood which scarred him for life, little aspects have been explored and well thought out. The characters felt real. I could empathise with what Jennifer was going through. The author has also brought out beautifully how some things are so different from what we perceive from our row of seats in life. For years, Jennifer has an understanding of her mother which was quite different from reality. The extents to which people go, for various reasons, some because of their sick minds, some because they will do everything to save their loved ones. The book, for a paranormal crime thriller, it was so much more than just a thriller, which is the reason I enjoyed this book so much.

One of those books, whose blurb I hadn’t read in quite as much detail as I should have. However, I have to say, I’m glad that it didn’t disappoint me at all. If anything, it made the book even better for me. A book I would recommend, but if you are wary of paranormal books, then be warned, this one has plenty of it. Having said that, in normal circumstances, I’m not too fond of paranormal books, but this book was one I would recommend. First in the series, I’m quite looking forward to reading the next one, when it comes along.

Thank you Netgalley and the publishers for the review copy of this book.

So, have you read this already? How did you find it?

About the Author
Caroline Mitchell is the author of Amazon best selling true story ‘Paranormal Intruder’, and her recent debut crime novel ‘Don’t Turn Around’.
Originally from Ireland, she now lives with her husband, four children and two dogs in a pretty village on the coast of Essex.

This book is available on Amazon(UK).

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Don’t Turn Around by Caroline Mitchell

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Time to Die by Caroline Mitchell | Any Excuse To Read

Leave a Reply

