Tuesday First Chapter First Paragraph 02 June

image

Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros are hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea Every Tuesday, Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea posts the opening paragraph (sometime two) of a book she decided to read based on the opening. Feel free to grab the banner and play along.

It’s a pretty well established fact in my family that I am not particularly good at keeping secrets. I can think of only two times in my entire life that I have successfully kept something interesting to myself.

The first was when I realised that I had fallen in love with my best friend. We were out at dinner with a group of friends, and over entrées, I caught him staring at me with such love and pride that I could have dissolved into his gaze. I managed to keep my startling realisation to myself for several hours –but as soon everyone else had gone home, I blurted it out in the middle of a totally unrelated conversation. Ted said that I had avoided eye contact with him all night and he’d been wondering why. He says that even when I do hide a secret in my words, my eyes give it away anyway . . . and that if I’d just looked at him that night, there would have been no need to open my mouth at all.
I suppose my glorious history of failure with secrecy makes it all the more impressive that, when I discovered that I was pregnant, I managed to go a whole two days without telling my mother

The excerpt is from ‘The Secret Daughter’ by Kelly Rimmer.
image

The book is courtesy, Netgalley. I have to say the combination of the name, the blurb and the first paragraph, has me hooked. Have you read this book? Would you be tempted to read on?

6 thoughts on “Tuesday First Chapter First Paragraph 02 June

Leave a Reply

