Book Review: The Way We Were by Sinéad Moriarty

Every January, for the last few years, I’ve been doing a blog marathon (primarily on the other blog) with friends. It’s normally great fun even if can never really complete it. Every year I promise myself that next year, I wouldn’t take part, especially on days when I struggle to post. But it’s become a tradition now, and a tradition that’s become rather hard to break.

So here I am, posting on either of my two blogs, every day, for the whole of this month. Or so I hope. I also plan to get through all my reviews pending from last year during this month. Lets see how many of my plans actually materialise into action. Fingers crossed.

image

Alice and Ben are a regular couple with two daughters. Pre-teen Holly is an almost angelic eleven-year-old while fifteen year old Jools is a different story. Alice has her hands full balancing her work as a GP and her family.

Ben is a busy surgeon who has been feeling a little restless with his life. He yearns for more challenges at work and when offered a chance to go to Eritrea for a surgery, he grabs it. It looks like the perfect solution to his problem. A few jobs here and there to break the monotony. Alice, of course, is not thrilled, neither is Jools because Ben would miss her sixteenth birthday, but the prospect of a big present wins her over and Ben is off.

Unpredictable as life is, Alice and the girls get the news that Ben has been killed by a landmine. The life that Alice has known for the last nineteen years has come to a sudden halt. Her partner, the love of her life is gone. The girls are lost as well. Each of them finding ways of coping, and not always the best of ways. Their little family was in danger of being cast adrift. Alice had to find the strength in her to stay strong and focussed to give her girls the stability they need.

Three years have passed and finally Alice and the girls seem happier, they made their peace with what happened, Alice has also to met a wonderful man who has asked her to marry him. Not just that, the girls are happy for her too.

Of course nothing in life is that simple. She gets the news that Ben was not killed. He is alive and coming back to them.

Once Ben is back, he and the girls expect every thing to go back the way they were. What about Alice. Can her emotions be turned on and off at will? After all that she went through she now has to find the strength to deal with this change.

A book that I absolutely loved. I loved the storyline, loved the characters, and loved the way the author handled it. You feel for every character, even the less nice ones. There are no black and whites, so many dilemmas and so beautifully narrated. I especially loved the girls Holly and Jools. Holly reminded me of my own little girl.

A book that had me in tears, that had me rooting for every character, even when they all wanted conflicting things. A book with a complicated storyline, but laced with just the right amount of humour and fun. It is narrated from Alice, Ben and Holly’s points of view and helps us see the whole picture. It is of course more than about just the four of them, it is about their extended family and close friends, a book that brings it all together in a beautiful way. A book that I would recommend wholeheartedly.

My rating: 4.5/5.

Funnily enough this is the first book of the author’s that I have read. She certainly goes on my list of authors to read more of. As if I didn’t have a long enough list already!

Thank you NetGalley and the publishers for the review copy.


About the Author

Sinéad Moriarty was born and brought up in Dublin. She grew up dreaming of being an author and is now a successful author with several best selling titles to her name.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Way We Were by Sinéad Moriarty

  1. Pingback: Today’s post is on the book blog | Any Excuse to Write…

Leave a Reply

