First Chapter – First Paragraph May 12

image

My first attempt at Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea Every Tuesday, Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea posts the opening paragraph (sometime two) of a book she decided to read based on the opening. Another tag that I’ve picked up, inspired by Cleo. Feel free to grab the banner and play along.

The Colour of Secrets by Lindsey Ashford. This book has sat on y virtual shelf for a while. I ended up picking it up and reading the first page, and it has me hooked.

The photograph still startles me, even though I’ve looked at it a dozen times since it landed on the doormat. An elderly white woman with her arm around a beautiful black girl. The magazine has put us on its front cover with the line: “Mixed Blessings— Rhiannon’s White Family.” The article is to help publicize her new show. I understand that, of course, but I was worried when she told me about it. Afraid of what she would say about me. She knows only the bare bones of what happened because I didn’t want to tell her. That was a terrible mistake. I wondered if she would tell them that my stubborn silence almost proved deadly. Thankfully she told them the truth, but not all of it. She painted me much better than I am. And the real story? That will never be told. Not by me, anyway. Some things are too painful to put into words

So, tell me, does this call out to you?

16 thoughts on “First Chapter – First Paragraph May 12

  1. Oh, I like the sound of this one. Glad you decided to join in. I do this one every couple of weeks, but I always try to get around and see what others have shared.

    Like

Leave a comment